Staff

Shelly Soffe

Office Assistant

Shelly Soffe

Shelly Soffe

Office Assistant

Email:  ssoffe@ascentutah.org

Shauna Summerhays

Office Assistant

Shauna Summerhays

Shauna Summerhays

Office Assistant

I have my Bachelors degree in Human Development and Family Studies from the University of Utah.  I absolutely love working with kids especially the awesome students at Ascent Academy!  I love reading, playing my guitar, hiking and having impromptu dance parties with my 5 children.

Email:  ssummerhays@ascentutah.org

Sarah Stevenson

BTSALP specialist

Sarah Stevenson

Sarah Stevenson

BTSALP specialist

 

I am excited to be the Beverley Taylor Sorenson Arts Learning Program (BTSALP) visual arts specialist at Ascent Academy. I started working at Ascent when it opened in 2014 and I have enjoyed working in both the elementary and the junior high. I have always had a love for the arts and hope to instill that in the students at Ascent. In high school, I received numerous art awards and a scholarship. After starting as an early college student at Weber State University, I received my bachelor’s degree. I spent several years in the health care field working at an in-patient hospital surgical rehab and operating room. I have been blessed with 3 beautiful children. When my kids began school I spent many hours volunteering in each of their classrooms and the PTA. It’s fun to be recognized around town from those now college age kids that have all grown up and stop to tell me about what they are up too. My oldest is now married and I have one in high school and one in junior high. When I am not working I enjoy spending time with my husband and family, gardening, art and traveling. Wherever our travels take us, we always seek out art galleries and museums. My all-time favorite museum we went to as a family was Norman Rockwell’s home and art gallery in Stockbridge, Massachusetts.

Email:  sstevenson@ascentutah.org

Deanna Arnold

Kindergarten TA

Deanna Arnold

Deanna Arnold

Kindergarten TA

Email:  darnold@ascentutah.org

Alisha Regis

1st Grade TA

Alisha Regis

Alisha Regis

1st Grade TA

Email:  aregis@ascentutah.org

Sandra Shephard

1st Grade TA

Sandra Shephard

Sandra Shephard

1st Grade TA

Email:  sshephard@ascentutah.org

Joann Meyers

2nd Grade TA

Joann Meyers

Joann Meyers

2nd Grade TA

Email:  jmeyers@ascentutah.org

Denise Tiner

2nd grade TA

Denise Tiner

Denise Tiner

2nd grade TA

I live in Farmington with my husband of 37 years. I have 5 beautiful children who are all married to wonderful people and 7 incredible grandchildren. I have a degree in Elementary Education from Weber State University. I have spent most of my adult life working with children. I owned and ran my own preschool for 22 years and also worked in many elementary school class rooms. In my spare time I enjoy quilting, reading, knitting and going to the movies or plays with my husband. We also love to travel and I have been lucky enough to visit all 50 states and over 20 countries.

Email:  dtiner@ascentutah.org

Cyndi Child

3rd Grade TA

Cyndi Child

Cyndi Child

3rd Grade TA

I grew up in Southern Utah, but have lived the last 13 years in Davis County.  I married my High school sweet heart and have four amazing kids.  I am currently working on my degree in Elementary Education at Weber State.  I am so excited to be apart of the Ascent Academy team.  I fell in love with Ascent Academy last year, while volunteering in the classes and getting to know the teachers and staff.  I enjoy hanging out with my family and friends in my spare time.  Some of my favorite things are, boating, hiking, wake boarding/tubing, camping, going to the movies, playing and coaching sports and traveling.  My family is quite adventurous and we love the outdoors.

Email:  cchild@ascentutah.org

Celeste Jeppesen

3rd Grade TA

Celeste Jeppesen

Celeste Jeppesen

3rd Grade TA

Email:  cjeppesen@ascentutah.org

Kate Davis

4th Grade TA

Kate Davis

Kate Davis

4th Grade TA

Email:  kdavis@ascentutah.org

Kaylee Ririe

5th Grade TA

Kaylee Ririe

Kaylee Ririe

5th Grade TA

Email:  kririe@ascentutah.org

Lori Cardinal

6th Grade TA

Lori Cardinal

Lori Cardinal

6th Grade TA

I grew up in California and graduated from the US Air Force Academy where I received a Bachelor of Science Degree with a minor in French.  I earned a Master of Administrative Science from the University of Montana.  After spending 6 years serving in the Air Force, I became full-time mother and Air Force wife, as well as active volunteer.  My husband’s career in the Air Force moved our family all over the United States.  I’ve spent the last seven years tutoring, substitute teaching and teaching 5th grade at a Utah Charter School. I enjoy the outdoors, especially backpacking, boating and cross country skiing with my husband, Jim, and three children, Jamie, Jimmy and Jonathan.

Email:  lcardinal@ascentutah.org

Patrick Quigg

Support Staff

Patrick Quigg

Patrick Quigg

Support Staff

Greetings;

I am from the South East Side of Chicago, IL. I graduated from the University of Illinois with degrees in education and the Latin language. After graduating from the university I attended Garrett Evangelical Theological Seminary (Methodist) with a Master of Divinity degree. I served a number of churches, but found I enjoyed hospital chaplaincy more. I completed all four units of CPE, Clinical Pastoral Education, at Methodist hospital in Indianapolis Indiana and Good Samaritan Hospital in Phoenix. I was chaplain of two hospitals in Arizona and chaplain for a hospice in the same state.

I returned to school at Grand Canyon University in Phoenix to update my Education degree and take enough Science and Biology classes to be able to teach Jr. High and High school Science. I Taught Biology in Coolidge and Buckeye, AZ before coming to Utah to teach Science at the Jr. High level for the past 18 years.

I have restored a 1955 Lincoln Capri and am currently building a full scale driveable replica of the 1966 Batmobile. I am a model train enthusiast (HO) and belong to various model train clubs in the area. I have oil painted in the past and have done some work in stained glass.

I live with my wife of 19 years in Kaysville and am happy to be a Jazz fan!

Email:  pquigg@ascentutah.org

Sarah Fawcett

Support Staff

Sarah Fawcett

Sarah Fawcett

Support Staff

Catherine Smith

Support Staff

Catherine Smith

Catherine Smith

Support Staff

Email:  csmith@ascentutah.org

Jessica Passey

Support Staff

Jessica Passey

Jessica Passey

Support Staff

Email:  jpassey@ascentutah.org

Melissa Counter

Support Staff

Melissa Counter

Melissa Counter

Support Staff

Email:  mcounter@ascentutah.org

Jeff Parker

Support Staff

Jeff Parker

Jeff Parker

Support Staff

Email:  jparker@ascentutah.org

Sheri Shaver

Assistant Kitchen Manager

Sheri Shaver

Sheri Shaver

Assistant Kitchen Manager

Email:  sshaver@ascentutah.org

Downy Adams

Kitchen Staff

Downy Adams

Downy Adams

Kitchen Staff

Email:  dadams@ascentutah.org

Jodi Jensen

Kitchen Staff

Jodi Jensen

Jodi Jensen

Kitchen Staff

Email:  jjensen@ascentutah.org

Heather Barnes

Kitchen Staff

Heather Barnes

Heather Barnes

Kitchen Staff

Email:  hbarnes@ascentutah.org